Monday, December 20, 2010

Legendary Captain Beyond, Iron Butterfly Guitarist "Rhino" Reinhardt To Release Brand New Studio Album 'Back In The Day' In January

On January 10, 2011 legendary Captain Beyond/Iron Butterfly guitarist "Rhino" Reinhardt will release a brand new studio album 'Back In The Day' world-wide via RLD Records .

For the album, credited to Rhino and the Posse, Reinhardt's band consists of Mike Koch keyboards, Frankie Lombardi drums, Pedro Arevalo bass and Don Bonzi guitars, all of whom were in ex Allman Brothers Band guitarist Dickey Betts' Great Southern prior to his sudden retirement from live performance in December 2009.

Reinhardt started out in the late 60's as a member of The Second Coming with future Allman Brothers founders guitarist Dickey Betts and bassist Berry Oakley. When the two helped form the Allman Brothers in 1969 with brothers Gregg and Duane Allman and drummers Butch Trucks and Jaimoe Johanson, the guitarist joined acid rockers Iron Butterfly for the recording of their 4th studio album 'Metamorphosis'.

When the band imploded during a tour of Europe in 1971, he along with Butterfly bassist Lee Dorman joined forces with original Deep Purple vocalist Rod Evans and ex Johnny Winter drummer Bobby Caldwell in heavy rock supergroup Captain Beyond. With the band, albeit with an ever changing lineup, he recorded three albums 1972's cult classic self titled effort, 1973's 'Sufficiently Breathless' and 1977's 'Dawn Explosion'.

Since the band's break up he has been a part of numerous reunion tours with both Iron Butterfly and Captain Beyond, which included an acclaimed performance by the latter band at 1999's Sweden Rock Festival.

Since the last disbanding of Captain Beyond in 2002, Reinhardt released the solo album 'Rhino's Last Dance' in 2008.  For more information go to this location.

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...