Tuesday, May 11, 2010

Thin Lizzy Announces New Lineup, UK Tour To Follow

Thin Lizzy is one of rock music’s most recognizable names. The fiery Dublin band exploded onto the scene with a fresh sound, look and attitude.

Led by the incomparable Phil Lynott, the band reached many peaks and influenced generations of musicians with classic tracks such as 'Jailbreak', 'The Boys Are Back In Town', 'Still In Love With You', 'Cold Sweat', 'Emerald' and 'Don’t Believe A Word'. Most rock historians would agree the pinnacle of their commercial success was in 1983, followed by the bands’ premature demise, as they played their last gig in September of 1984. Just two years later, the world was shocked when singer/bassist and founding member Phil Lynott passed away at the age of 36.

24 years have passed, the world has changed, but the amazing body of work that is Thin Lizzy still retains all of its vibrancy and influence. A new lineup has formed to take Lizzy’s music to a whole new generation of music fans. Led by alumni Scott Gorham, Brian Downey and Darren Wharton (all of whom played in Thin Lizzy with Phil Lynott) the stellar lineup is completed by Def Leppard's Viv Campbell (guitar), bassist Marco Mendoza (Whitesnake, Ted Nugent) and The Almighty's’s Ricky Warwick on vocals and guitar.

Alongside the new lineup, Universal Music has committed to a series of re-issue, deluxe and special releases of classic Thin Lizzy material over the next 18 months. More details to follow.

Thin Lizzy have confirmed a 2011 UK tour. Full dates are as follows:

6 – Aberdeen - Music Hall
7 – Glasgow - O2 Academy
8 – Newcastle - City Hall
10 – Leeds - O2 Academy
11 – Llandudno - Theatre
12 – Leicester - De Montfort Hall
14 – Wolverhampton - Civic Hall
15 – Manchester - Apollo
16 – Bristol - Colston Hall
18 – Southampton - Guildhall
19 – Ipswich - Regent
21 – Cambridge - Corn Exchange

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...