Saturday, April 10, 2010

Blues Guitar Legend Johnny Winter To See Vintage Unreleased Fillmore East Show Released April 20

On April 20, Blues guitar legend Johnny Winter will see a previously unreleased vintage live recording unearthed from the vaults by Collector's Choice Live and set loose into stores via 'Johnny Winter And -Live at the Fillmore East 10/3/70'.

To commemorate the release of his Johnny Winter And album, Texas blues guitarist/singer Johnny Winter played some shows at New York City’s Fillmore East, some of which were compiled on 1971’s live 'Johnny Winter And', a classic live album of the era to which this release makes a nice bookend.

He had just formed a new band consisting of former member of the McCoys (“Hang on Sloopy”) including Rick Derringer on guitar, bassist Randy Jo Hobbs, and drummer Randy Zehringer. Although the McCoys were none too familiar with Winter’s work, they picked up the tunes quickly and entered the studio to make the album Johnny Winter And within only three weeks.

The New York Times reviewed the Fillmore show, citing “a considerable improvement over Winter’s previous band. Winter and [Derringer] played solos back at each other, simultaneously and in alternation.” The live album contains the Winter hit “Rock and Roll Hoochie Coo” and his take on Bob Dylan’s “Highway 61” alongside blues classics “Rollin’ and Tumblin’,” “It’s My Own Fault” and “Good Morning Little Schoolgirl.”

The complete track listing is as follows :

1. Guess I'll Go Away
2. Good Morning Little School Girl
3. Rock And Roll Hoochie Koo
4. It's My Own Fault
5. Highway 61 Revisited
6. Mean Town Blues
7. Rollin' And Tumblin'

To preorder the album go to this location.

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...