Sunday, May 10, 2009

B.B. King, Buddy Guy, Jeff Healey Among Big Winners At 2009 Blues Music Awards

The soulful singer Janiva Magness won entertainer of the year at the 2009 Blues Music Awards, held May 7th in Memphis. The Michigan native also won best contemporary female artist at Thursday’s show.

Buddy Guy won three awards: contemporary blues album, contemporary male artist and album of the year for 'Skin Deep'. Blues legend B.B. King took home two honors: traditional male artist and best traditional blues album for the T Bone Burnette produced 'One Kind Favor'. Eden Brent won acoustic artist of the year and best acoustic album for Mississippi Number One. Kenny Neal won song of the year for "Let Life Flow". The late Canadian guitarist Jeff Healey took the Rock Blues Album of the Year for the posthumously released "Mess of Blues", while slide master Sonny Landreth was named Instrumentalist - guitarist of the year.

For the complete list of BMA winners go to this location

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...