Sunday, February 8, 2009

Moonstone Project Signs Worldwide Deal With Blistering Records

Blistering Records is thrilled to announce the worldwide signing of Italian based classic rock supergroup, Moonstone Project & their dynamic bluesy new release, 'Rebel On The Run'.

It features the amazing voice of James Christian (House Of Lords) on all but one track. That 11th track happens to be "Closer Than You Think," a soulful original written & performed by the voice of rock himself, Glenn Hughes (Deep Purple/Black Sabbath).

On the spontaneous creation of the Hughes cut, Moonstone founder/guitarist Matt Filippini recalls: "Closer Than You Think" is a beautiful gift from Glenn. He wrote that magical piece while I was at his house in LA. We were watching TV in his living room & suddenly he ran into his studio, picked up his guitar & 5 minutes later the song was born!"

This vibe of immediate cosmic generation permeates the album, though with 2 years of blood sweat & tears in the production, no detail was left unpolished on this labor of love.

While the predecessor to this release, 'Hidden In Time' has become a re-issued collectible favorite in the neo-classic rock underground that album related more the "Project" part of the group's name, with 10 different singers & 20 musicians collaborating.

'Rebel On The Run' has an intentionally more consistent "band" feel. But fret not, there are still plenty of stunning guest appearances from hard rock royalty Ian Paice (Deep Purple) & Clive Bunker (Jethro Tull) on drums to legendary Hammond organ maestro, Ken Hensley (Uriah Heep) adding his distinct, wild keyboard flourishes.

Lead vocalist James Christian's wife, solo artist Robin Beck also layers many unique backing vocals into the colorful fabric of this warm recording.

The masterminds behind the ambitious operation are guitarist Matt Filippini & his co-writing/producing studio wizard keyboardist, Alessandro Del Vecchio.
The music is solidified by the powerful Moonstone bassist Nik Mazzucconi, U.D.O. drummer Francesco Jovino, live drummer Alex Mori & backing singer Roberto Tiranti (Labyrinth).

Spring & summer concerts to support the album are already being announced starring Glenn Hughes as well as a festival & fall tour featuring former Rainbow/Yngwie Malmsteen vocalist, Doogie White.

"Rebel On The Run" track listing:
01. Moonster Booster
02. Shooting Star
03. One Dollar Babe
04. From Another Time
05. Cosmic Blues
06. Madman
07. Halfway To Heaven
08. Closer Than You Think
09. Hey Mama
10. Rebel On The Run
11. Sinner, Sinner

Confirmed upcoming concerts:
March 8 - University Square, Tirana (Albania) feat. Glenn Hughes
March 10 - Black Horse, Cermenate CO (Italy) feat. Glenn Hughes
May 15 - Motorock Festival, Cremona (Italy) feat. Doogie White
July 18 - Parco Comunale, Taino VA (Italy) feat. Glenn Hughes

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...