Thursday, December 18, 2008

Mannish Boys, Buddy Guy, B.B. King, Jeff Healey, Elvin Bishop Nominated For Blues Music Awards

The 30th Annual Blues Music Awards have been confirmed for May 7 at the Cook Convention Center in Memphis, TN. The awards ceremony and concert will be broadcast live by Sirius XM Satellite Radio's B.B. King's Bluesville channel, according to a press release. The event also will be shot in HD for a DVD to be released late next year.

Topping the nominee list this year are The Mannish Boys, who received six nods, including Band of the Year, Traditional Album of the Year and Album of the Year.

Slide guitarist Elvin Bishop, pianist Eden Brent, songstress Janiva Magness, soul man Curtis Salgado and former truck driver Watermelon Slim tied with four nominations each. Buddy Guy was nominated for three awards and B.B. King nominated for two.

Jeff Healey and Sean Costello both received posthumous nominations.

This year, the Blues Foundation, which is comprised of 3,000 individual members and 160 affiliated member-based blues societies, added a Rock Blues category. First-time nominations in the category went to Gary Moore, Healey, Michael Burks, Smokin' Joe Kubek & Bnois King, Sonny Landreth and Walter Trout.

More information is available at the Blues Foundation's web site.

1 comment:

Joanie said...

Best news of all: my friends Chris James and Patrick Rynn were nominated for best debut. Sadly, they're up against Homemade Jamz Band and Eden Brent. Still, their album is solid and, if voters really listened to all the nominees, there'd be no question and they'd win.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...