Thursday, August 14, 2008

John Mayall's Bluesbreakers To Release Live DVD

British blues legend John Mayall has been leading one version or another of his influential Bluesbreakers band for over 40 years now. The 1980s Bluesbreakers version may well represent the band's best incarnation since Mayall made stars of guitarists Eric Clapton and Peter Green at the dawn of the '60s. Featuring twin guitarists Walter Trout and Coco Montoya, the line-up recorded two albums: 1985's Behind The Iron Curtain, a live recording of a show in Hungary, and 1988's studio effort, Chicago Line.

On September 2, 2008 Music Video Distributors will be releasing Mayall's 'Live At Iowa State University' DVD, the disc capturing a rare 1987 performance by the Bluesbreakers with Trout and Montoya at the forefront. Clocking in at nearly an hour-and-a-half, Live At Iowa State University features nine extended songs, including Mayall's signature cover versions of Mose Allison's "Parchman Farm" and Little Walter's "It Ain't Right" along with time-tested originals like "Rolling With The Blues" and "One Life To Live." With these two fiery guitarists leading the fray, this is a performance DVD that you'll want to witness for yourself.

Track Listing/Features:

  • Birthday Blues
  • Rolling With The Blues
  • Parchman Farm
  • Riding On The L & N
  • Little Girl
  • Stepping Out
  • It Ain't Right
  • One Life To Live
  • Room To Move
Bonus Materials:
  • Discography
  • Band Biography
  • Quantum Leap Propaganda

"It Ain't Right" Live At Iowa University featuring Walter Trout and Coco Montoya on guitars :

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...