Saturday, March 8, 2008

Uriah Heep Set To Release First New Studio Album In A Decade

Universal Music are delighted to announce the release of a new studio album from British rock legends Uriah Heep in June 2008. “Wake The Sleeper” will be Uriah Heep’s first studio album in almost ten years (the first since 1998’s “Sonic Origami”) and is set to herald an exciting new phase for the band. The album sees Uriah Heep back to their very best and is set to become a future classic ­ sure to please their dedicated worldwide fan base and fans of progressive rock in general. Recorded in 2007 the album was produced by Mike Paxman (Status Quo, Judie Tzuke).

In the words of Mick Box, “We are delighted to be reunited with a major label in Universal music. “Wake The Sleeper” is an album we are incredibly proud of, and one that we hope the fans will see as one of Uriah Heep’s best. We can’t wait to get back out on the road to showcase the new songs.”

This is the band's first album without their long-standing and original drummer, Lee Kerslake who sadly had to leave the band due to ill health in January 2007. Filling the drum stool for the very first time is the hugely well respected Russell Gilbrook (Tony Iommi (Black Sabbath), Van Morrison, John Farnham and Lonnie Donnegan). Current band line up is Mick Box Guitar, Vocals; Trevor Bolder ­ Bass, Vocals; Phil Lanzon ­ Keyboards, Vocals; Bernie Shaw - Lead Vocals and Russell Gilbrook ­ Drums, Vocals.

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...